Skip to content

Two weeks out

August 21, 2011

Classes start for me in two weeks so I’m right in the thick of working on new plans and new ideas for the coming school year. Over the summer I finally stumbled across the treasure trove of innovative physics teachers that I knew were out there on the interwebs. Now I find myself juggling what I’ve begun to learn about Modeling Instruction, Peer Instruction, Flipped Classrooms, Standards Based Grading, and the pros and cons of homework. It’s daunting. It’s exciting. I have two weeks to sort out what to add and what to wait on.

While I have no real goal of becoming a world class blogger, I was reading John Burk‘s post about his one year blogoversary and I was inspired. My hope is that I can use this blog as a tool for self monitoring and correction. If I don’t have anything worth writing about over the course of a week, have I really been working hard enough? If I can’t muster the words to explain what I’ve done, do I really understand it? We’ll see how it goes.

If you’re here and you’re not me, welcome! Input and feedback are always welcome.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2011 10:56 pm

    Another physics blogger! This is awesome. I was in exactly the same shoes as you a year ago, spinning with ideas, wondering how to proceed. Now I feel like the number of ideas I have has increased tenfold, and surprisingly, I’m clearer about what ties into the central mission of my teaching. I also feel like I’m backed up by a small army of awesome physics teachers around the world.

    So even though I know everyone says start small by changing only one thing at a time, I’m going to tell you that with the kind of support you have from physics teachers all around the world, think bigger. If you set up a strong and trusting dynamic with your kids (and eventually parents and administrators) you can change way more than you think you can.

  2. August 22, 2011 7:26 pm

    Thanks for the welcome, John! I’m glad the support network is out there. Right now I’m trying to map out an SBG approach for my honors physics class rather than the old simple math grading approach so that I can show my various bosses what I intend to do. It’s a pile of work, and all the work that you all have done and so generously published is an amazing resource.

Leave a Reply

