Skip to content

Looks like a green light

August 26, 2011

I got the go-ahead this morning from my principal and department head to try out Standards Based Grading with my classes. AP, Honors and Regular are all getting the treatment. I’m excited. I’m nervous. I have a lot of work to do.

I’ve decided that I’m going to go with what I gather is called Conjunctive SBG. Kelly O’Shea has done some great write ups about the practice. I’m using a two level system, Core Standards and Advanced Standards. Handily (C)ore level standards will get you to a C and (A)dvanced Standards can get you to an A. How mnemonic? I was tempted by a third level which I know some folks use, but as new to this as I am I think a coarser grain is best. My school mandates final exams at the end of the year so I’ll count that as the final 10%. In theory one can master only the Core standards and still pull down a B-.

Next up for me is to continue stealing researching and refining the standards I’ll be using. So far the published standards that I’ve run across seem to be for a very specific brand of Modeling Instruction. Lots of CVPM, COEM, and other exciting acronyms that it took me a few minutes to decipher (hint, the M means Model). They’re handy, very handy even, but nothing yet that I’ll be stealing wholesale.

So far I’m leaning heavily on Kelly O’Shea, Geoff at PhysicsPadawan, and Laid Back Science. If anyone has some great standards posted that I’ve missed I’d love to see them. Love.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 26, 2011 10:07 am

    Woo! Of course feel free to steal/modify as much as you want. That’s where most of what I do came from anyway.

    Next stop… Modeling Instruction. 🙂

Leave a Reply

