Skip to content

My introduction to webforms

October 17, 2011

Kelly O’Shea showed me the way again today. This time on the subject of web forms and how I can use them to streamline my extra test request process. I had been taking email requests from kids for their extra tests but those were a pain to keep track of and I found that the kids neglected key information, like, when they can take the test. My handy dandy newfangled web-form promises to sidestep at least some of these issues.

The required field utility is something I’m particularly excited about. No good answer for what specifically you did to prepare yourself? Perhaps you should ponder on that before jumping in to an assessment. The results interface for me is pretty easy to access as it just lives in my google docs folder.. Results are tabulated and timestamped. After a round of assessments happens I can easily (two clicks) go through and get rid of the now-superfluous data.

Now to put it in the hands of the kids and see how it plays out.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2011 12:08 pm

    I might change the “what have you done to practice” question to be a bit more obviously and straightforwardly worded (I know you have the same question as me… I need to change mine, too). A lot of kids seem not to be reading all of the words. They skim it and think it is a yes/no question(?!) and just answer “yeah” or “yes, I practiced” etc. Just FYI.

  2. October 19, 2011 12:48 pm

    Hi Kelly,

    I think you’re right. I just stole the wording verbatim on that one for my first run through and I agree, it could be streamlined. Pondering it over my morning coffee and stress-pains I came up with: “These are the specific things I’ve done to practice.”

    Another deficiency I might be noticing with my first version of this plan is that the communication is one way so far. I don’t have a mechanism to tell the kids “yes you’re application is sufficient, you’re good to go for the reassessment.” other than emailing them. Maybe that’s not a problem, maybe they should assume they’re good to go. If they show up to find out that “being less of a retard” (so many objections to that response) is not really a sufficient action plan then perhaps that’s a good thing?

    Thanks again, Kelly for the input and the constant stream of things to steal.

Trackbacks

  1. Extra tests and infrastructure « Physics and Barbells

Leave a Reply

